clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NBA D-League Draft To Take Place On November 1st

New, 2 comments

The NBA D-League announced the date of its annual rookie draft, set to take place next month.

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

It's official: the NBA D-League announced that its 2014 rookie/prospect draft will take place on Saturday, November 1st at 3:30 PM EST.

The D-League Draft has previously taken place on a Friday evening the last two seasons. More from the official league release:

The 14th season of the NBA D-League tips off on Nov. 14. Following the Draft, teams will hold training camps beginning on Nov. 2, and will trim their rosters to 10 players on Nov. 13, in advance of the start of the season.

The final 2014 NBA D-League Draft order will be announced on Oct. 31, after all potential trades have been executed. No trades of players or picks will be permitted during the Draft and only players signed to an NBA Development League Standard Player Contract are eligible to be selected.

And as for how the order of the draft has been determined:

The selection order for each of the eight rounds of the 2014 Draft will be determined based on the reverse order of 2013-14 regular season results, with the teams that did not qualify for the 2014 playoffs selecting before those teams who did compete in postseason. The Grand Rapids Drive, which joins the NBA D-League for the 2014-15 season having relocated from Springfield, will select where the Armor would have picked. The Westchester Knicks, new to the NBA D-League for the 2014-15 season, will select between the playoff and non-playoff teams.

Here is the order (first round, anyway) of the draft, as it currently stands:

1. Grand Rapids Drive (from Delaware)

2. Santa Cruz Warriors (from Erie)

3. Austin Spurs

4. Santa Cruz Warriors (from Maine)

5. Grand Rapids Drive

6. Texas Legends

7. Idaho Stampede

8. Bakersfield Jam

9. Oklahoma City Blue

10. Westchester Knicks

11. Reno Bighorns

12. Canton Charge

13. Santa Cruz Warriors

14. Rio Grande Valley Vipers

15. Sioux Falls Skyforce

16. Iowa Energy

17. Los Angeles D-Fenders

18. Rio Grande Valley Vipers (from Fort Wayne)