clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Top 5 Plays From the NBA D-League 2013-14 Season

Now that the D-League season has come to an end, let's relive the top five moments from the exciting year that once was, featuring dunks, scoring and championship celebrations.

Craig Mitchelldyer-USA TODAY Sports

While the NBA is currently in the midst of an exciting first-round of playoff games, the D-League season has recently concluded. It was one of the more exciting campaigns in recent years, featuring numerous NBA-type talent, making for a plethora of entertaining highlights. Below, we've narrowed it down to the five best videos from the season.

*** *** ***

5. Troy Daniels drains six three-pointers in just over nine minutes:

Before becoming an overnight celebrity with the Houston Rockets, Troy Daniels was the Rio Grande Valley Vipers' three-point threat off the bench. In a victory over the Texas Legends on December 2, the 22-year-old rookie dazzled, knocking down six three-pointers in just nine minutes and 20 seconds.

4. Rodney Williams' poster dunk:

D-League rookie Rodney Williams pulled off one of the best dunks of the year. The Delaware 87ers guard drove into the lane before leaping up and slamming home the jam over multiple defenders of the Springfield Armor. The dunk was reminiscent of Scottie Pippen's slam over Patrick Ewing in 1994.

3. Ron Howard becomes all-time scoring leader in D-League history:

Ron Howard, who is commonly referred to as "Mr. Mad Ant" transformed to "Mr. D-League" on March 29, becoming the all-time leading scorer in league history. The 31-year-old currently boasts 4,324 points and does not seem to be slowing down anytime soon.

2. Pierre Jackson drops 58 points, breaks single-game scoring record:

Prior to taking his talents to Istanbul, Pierre Jackson emerged as the D-League's deadliest scorer. He solidified this notion by tallying 58 points on February 4 against the Legends, setting a new single-game scoring record.

1. Mad Ants win first D-League championship in franchise history:

The Fort Wayne Mad Ants entered the playoffs as the No. 1 seed and proved to their opponents that they certainly were the D-League's best squad of the season. Led by Howard with help from Tony Mitchell, Tim Ohlbrecht among others, the Mad Ants captured the team's first title.