clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA D-League Announces Its All-NBADL Team Selections

New, 3 comments

The NBA D-League announced the selections for its All-NBADL teams across the league, honoring the top prospects they have to offer.

Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

Mere days after crowning the Fort Wayne Mad Ants as its 2013-14 season champions, the NBA D-League announced the selections for its All-NBADL teams.

Thus, the most talented and/or promising young guns are highlighted across the various "teams," recognizing the league's top offensive players, defenders, rookies, and more.

The teams are as follows, as per the league's official release:

The All-NBA D-League Teams:

Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants) and Othyus Jeffers (Iowa Energy), the 2014 NBA Development League Co-Most Valuable Players, headline the 2014 NBA D-League First Team, as voted on by the league's 17 head coaches. Jeffers, currently a member of the Minnesota Timberwolves, is one of three current NBA players on the First Team, including Robert Covington (Rio Grande Valley Vipers/Houston Rockets), and Justin Hamilton (Sioux Falls Skyforce/Miami Heat). Kevin Murphy of the Idaho Stampede rounds out the five-player First Team.

Five additional players with NBA experience, including Jorge Gutierrez (Canton Charge/Brooklyn Nets) and Hilton Armstrong (Santa Cruz Warriors/Golden State Warriors) who are both in the midst of NBA playoff runs, headline the Second Team. GATORADE Call-Ups DeAndre Liggins (Sioux Falls Skyforce), Chris Wright (Maine Red Claws/Milwauke Bucks) and James Nunnally (Texas Legends) complete the five-man squad.

The Third Team All NBA D-League also features five players with NBA experience, with Troy Daniels (Rio Grande Valley Vipers/Houston Rockets) highlighting the field. Daniels is joined by GATORADE Call-Ups Seth Curry (Santa Cruz Warriors), Tony Mitchell (Fort Wayne Mad Ants), and Arinze Onuaku (Canton Charge). Terrence Williams (Los Angeles D-Fenders) also joins the team.

An additional 12 players earned All-NBA D-League Honorable Mentions, including Idaho's Dee Bost, Iowa's Patrick Christopher, Bakersfield's Ike Diogu, Texas' Melvin Ely, now a member of the New Orleans Pelicans, Austin's Courtney Fells, Maine's Frank Gaines, Texas' Damion James, now a member of the San Antonio Spurs, Springfield's Darius Johnson-Odom, Santa Cruz's Cameron Jones, Fort Wayne's Tim Ohlbrecht, and Reno/Springfield's Willie Reed, now a member of the Sacramento Kings.

The All-NBADL Rookie Teams:

Fifteen first-year professionals were selected to the 2014 NBA D-League All-Rookie First, Second and Third teams. The First Team is made up of 2014 NBA D-League Rookie of the Year Robert Covington, who played in Rio Grande Valley on assignment from the Rockets, along with Santa Cruz's Curry, Maine's Gaines, Springfield's Adonis Thomas and Sioux Falls' Alex Oriakhi. The Second Team is comprised of Daniels, Texas' PJ Hairston, Los Angeles' James Sutherland, now a member of the New Orleans Pelicans, Tulsa's Grant Jerrett, now a member of the Oklahoma City Thunder, and Maine's Zeke Marshall. The Third Team features Fort Wayne's Trey McKinney-Jones, Maine's Chris Babb, now a member of the Boston Celtics, Iowa's Jackie Carmichael, Idaho's CJ Leslie and Rio Grande Valley's Jordan Henriquez.

The All-NBADL Defensive Teams:

The 2014 NBA D-League All-Defensive First Team is made up of Sioux Falls' Liggins, the 2014 NBA D-League Defensive Player of the Year, along with Canton's Gutierrez, now playing for the Brooklyn Nets, 2014 NBA D-League Co-MVP Jeffers, Reno's Mo Charlo, and Hamilton, now a member of the Miami Heat. The Second Team includes Fort Wayne's Sadiel Rojas, Iowa's Christopher, Maine's Wright, Reno/Springfield's Reed, now a member of the Sacramento Kings, and Santa Cruz's Armstrong, now a member of the Golden State Warriors.

Delaware 87ers' swingman Thanasis Antetokounmpo highlighted the All-NBADL Defensive Third Team, which can be found by clicking here. It should be noted that he and All-NBADL Rookie Second Team member PJ Hairston are among the six D-League alumni who are eligible to be selected in this coming June's NBA Draft.

While hoped to shed some light on its top players via the Prospect Watch all season long (and we here at, of course, featured our very own Prospect Pyramid), such comprehensive selections are sure to turn NBA executives and decision-makers alike onto which prized prospects their eyes should be on going forward.

There were 57 players highlighted in all.